7.9 C
Sunday, December 10, 2023

Ukraine’s Energy crisis escalates amid Russian attacks and harsh winter conditions

Once an electricity exporter, Ukraine has been forced to resort to emergency electricity imports from neighbouring Romania and Poland this week to meet the surging demand, as revealed by Ukraine's power grid operator, Ukrenergo

International aid to Ukraine plummets amid political tensions and growing uncertainty

The report comes against the backdrop of mounting uncertainty surrounding further US aid to Ukraine and a delay in the European Union's approval of a $50 billion aid package for Kyiv, facing opposition from Hungary and Slovakia

Teenage girl in Bryansk school shoots classmate before turning gun on herself

The gun used in the tragic incident was reportedly registered in the girl's father's name, as revealed by a parliamentarian

Russia adds five more nations into ‘Unfriendly’ nation’s list

WorldRussiaRussia adds five more nations into 'Unfriendly' nation's list

Russia in its recent move has increased it’s short list of so-called “unfriendly” countries, adding five European states that Moscow says have taken “hostile” actions.

The list of “unfriendly” countries, first released in May 2021 to include the United States and the Czech Republic, restricts the number of local staff that can be hired at designated nations’ diplomatic missions in Russia.


Russia has further expanded the list by adding Greece, Slovenia, Croatia, Slovakia and Denmark. The following data has been released by Russian government in its updated list which is published on Friday.

All five countries have expressed staunch support for Ukraine following Russia’s Feb. 24 invasion of its western neighbor.

Greece is now limited to 34 local staff, Denmark to 20 and Slovakia to 16 at their respective embassies and consulates.

“Slovenia & Croatia will not be able to recruit employees in their diplomatic missions and consular offices” altogether, the government decree states.

This is the first expansion to Russia’s list of “unfriendly” countries in more than a year.

The Russian government warned that it may expand its list further “taking into account the ongoing hostile actions of foreign states against Russian missions abroad.”


A separate list of “unfriendly” countries imposes economic limits on 48 mostly Western countries in response to sanctions imposed on Russia over its invasion of Ukraine this year.

Moscow ordered countries on that list to make ruble payments on debt and obtain government approval for corporate deals in addition to placing visa restrictions on their citizens.

Russian President Vladimir Putin in May banned economic relations with sanctioned individuals from “unfriendly countries” in response to Western asset seizures abroad.

Check out our other content

Check out other tags:

Most Popular Articles